Search Results: Adviser and Provider Reviews

10 results:

TPR Guidance on Tendering for Fiduciary Management Services

8 Jan 2020

Viewpoints

The Pensions Regulator (TPR) has released its long-awaited guidance setting out approaches to comply with trustees’ duties to competitively tender fiduciary management appointments. We have collated our views on the guidance and shared our thoughts here.

Read more
Barry Mack

Director

Don’t let the urgent crowd out the important - How do you review and select advisers remotely?

2 Jun 2020

Viewpoints

The immediate response to the outbreak of Covid-19 shifted priorities and a lot of the important projects suddenly became less so and were put on hold. With social distancing and home-working likely for the foreseeable future, those important projects are now due for reconsideration.

Read more
Stacy O’Sullivan

Senior Consultant

Consolidating Advisers

13 Dec 2021

Case studies

Where a company has a number of legacy pension schemes as a result of acquisition, it is not unusual to find them administered by different parties. In this example, our client had many legacy schemes (all closed) and five different administration providers.

Read more

Resourcing the Pensions Department

13 Dec 2021

Case studies

Our client asked us to conduct a benchmarking exercise investigating in-house company pension teams. During a series of interviews, 10 companies shared their current resourcing structures, activities, challenges and drivers.

Read more

Moving to a Master Trust

13 Dec 2021

Case studies

The company had recently undertaken a strategic review of its DC arrangements and concluded that there were efficiencies to be made in the DC running costs. A Master Trust might provide the most cost efficient means of providing the DC benefits, but as their DC adviser also runs a Master Trust, the company recognised that the adviser would be conflicted.

Read more

Selecting an Actuary

13 Dec 2021

Case studies

Our client had two schemes, each with a different actuary. This wasn’t a problem, but it was time for a review and they wanted to consider the benefits and downsides of sharing an actuary across the two schemes.

Read more

Governing Investments

13 Dec 2021

Case studies

A company-appointed trustee felt that the trustees were rather too passive when it came to the investment strategy. This individual trustee felt the trustee board wasn’t considering all their options and weren’t making the best use of their investment adviser. However, being a company-appointed trustee meant that there was a risk of perceived conflict and he recognised that can be just as damaging as the real thing.

Read more

Outsourcing Investments

13 Dec 2021

Case studies

Our client had an in-house investment team including provision of investment advice and some direct investment management and was on a journey towards a greater level of outsourcing. However, they didn’t know how they should approach the range of options for outsourcing, while pursuing their objective to further derisk the scheme.

Read more

Asking the Right Questions

13 Dec 2021

Case studies

Our client was reviewing their DC options, something that we increasingly see, and had decided to look at the master trust market. They wanted to reduce the costs and governance burden for the company, but ensure that members were getting good value for money. It was also important that the members could access the full flexibilities.

Read more

Reviewing Full Services

13 Dec 2021

Case studies

Our client had been with their full services provider for over 15 years and enjoyed, on the whole, a good relationship. However, more recently some strains had started to appear and frustrations were building. That is why we were appointed: to bring the Trustee up to speed with the latest offerings and find a provider that would bring fresh views and work well with the trustee.

Read more